Growing stronger regions across Western Australia

Media Release


27 January 2015

The Australian Government has today announced the Chair and Deputy Chair appointments to Regional Development Australia (RDA) committees across Western Australia.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development Warren Truss said the three-year appointments will provide leadership to RDA committees to drive economic growth and make the most of the potential capability of their region.

“The RDA committees can play a key role in growing stronger regions across the nation and ensure all three tiers of government work together,” Mr Truss said.

"The committees will advise on priority activities that will unlock regional economic development and improve the productivity of their region.

“RDA committees will provide advice to the Government on critical issues affecting each region and are an important mechanism to increase access to Australian Government programmes in their communities.

“The committees will also assist local community stakeholders to develop project proposals and direct them to appropriate public and/or private funding sources—including the $1 billion National Stronger Regions Fund.”

The following individuals have been appointed as Chairs and Deputy Chairs:

  • RDA Goldfields Esperance—Ms Julia Shadlow-Bath (Chair); Mr David Nicholson (Deputy)
  • RDA Great Southern—Cr Gregory Stocks (Chair); Ms Liz Guidera (Deputy)
  • RDA Kimberley—Cr Graeme Campbell (Chair); Cr Elsia Archer (Deputy)
  • RDA Mid West Gascoyne—Mrs Vickie Hablitz (Chair); Mrs Leonie Noble
  • RDA Pilbara—Cr Fiona White-Hartig (Chair); Cr Lynette Craigie (Deputy)
  • RDA Perth—Cr Keith Ellis (Chair); Mr John Pirie (Deputy)
  • RDA South West—Mr Duncan Anderson (Chair); Ms Catherine Barnes (Deputy)
  • RDA Wheatbelt—Mr Graham Cooper (Chair); Mrs Heidi Cowcher (Deputy)

Regional Development Australia consists of a national network of 55 committees designed to strongly focus on regional economic development and facilitate local projects that aim to make a difference in their local communities.

The Chair and Deputy Chair will now move promptly to appoint a team of active local community leaders to support them.

Mr Truss thanked retiring committee Chairs and members for their service and wished the new committees well as they work to deliver stronger local regions.