Finalists announced in local government awards

Media Release


01 May 2014

Category finalists have been announced in the National Awards for Local Government, highlighting innovative projects that deliver better outcomes for communities.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development Warren Truss said the Awards finalists should be commended for their hard work that is making a real difference in local Australian communities.

“Two finalists have been announced in each of the six award categories, recognising the important role of local government in both urban and regional communities across Australia,” Mr Truss said.

The 2014 category finalists are:

  • Arts Animates—excellence in community engagement and participation
    Holroyd City Council, NSW—Hay Holroyd “Make a Choice” Young person's video project
    Clarence Valley Council, NSW—PLUNGE: Insider's guide to arts and cultural events
  • Disability Access and Inclusion
    Hume City Council, VIC—School Holiday Program for Indigenous Children with a Disability
    Melton City Council, VIC —Disability Action Plan 2013–2017 and Launch
  • Improve Productivity and Regional Development
    Townsville City Council, QLD —Townsville Planning and Development Reform Program
    Shire of Bridgetown-Greenbushes, WA—Bridgetown Public Library Infrastructure Development Project
  • Multicultural Australia—Strength in Diversity
    Greater Dandenong City Council, VIC—“Racism. Get Up. Speak Out.” Campaign
    City of Belmont, WA—New Arrivals Library Support Project
  • Promoting Indigenous Recognition
    Clarence Valley Council, NSW—The Three Mobs One River Aboriginal Learning Kit
    City of Salisbury, SA—‘Together Woven’ Kaurna Heritage Marker
  • Youth Employment
    Melton City Council, VIC—Building Melton Together Employment Initiative
    Latrobe City Council, VIC—Steps to the Future Indigenous Employment Program

Mr Truss will announce the winner of the 2014 National Award for Excellence in Local Government in Canberra on the evening of 17 June.

For more information about the Awards, visit