New Queensland Councils to Get Federal Funding

Media Release


07 February 2014

The Australian Government has today recognised Queensland's four newest councils—Noosa, Livingstone, Mareeba and Douglas—by allocating them a share of Commonwealth Financial Assistance Grants.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development Warren Truss said funding allocations approved under the Financial Assistance Grant will greatly benefit the new Councils as they set about the task of re-establishing their new administrations.

“The new local governments of Noosa, Livingstone, Mareeba and Douglas officially commenced operations on 1 January this year, increasing the number of Queensland councils from 73 to 77,” Mr Truss said.

“Formerly part of the Sunshine Coast, Rockhampton, Tablelands and Cairns governing bodies, the four new local governments are now councils in their own right.

“Under the initial part-distribution for 2013–14 (1 January to 30 June 2014), the Noosa Council will receive $585,331, Livingstone $515,132, Mareeba $722,480, and Douglas $143,800.”

The allocations will result in corresponding reductions in the Grants made to their former amalgamated Councils. From next year, these Councils will participate in the Queensland Grants Commission processes on the same basis as other Queensland Local Authorities.

The Deputy Prime Minister said the new allocations marked an exciting time for local government and the communities in Queensland.

“It’s great to see the communities of Noosa, Livingstone, Mareeba and Douglas recognised in their own right,” Mr Truss said.

The Financial Assistance Grants include both general purpose and specific roads allocations, both of which are untied to allow councils to spend the grants according to local priorities.

The four new local government bodies have been created under the Local Government (De-Amalgamation Implementation) Regulation 2013.