Woolgoolga Bypass Open to Traffic

Media Release


16 December 2013

Joint release with:

Duncan Gay

NSW Minister for Roads and Ports

Luke Hartsuyker

Member for Cowper

Motorists using the Pacific Highway north of Coffs Harbour will have their travel time reduced with the opening of the Woolgoolga bypass.

The 10 kilometre bypass was opened today by the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development Warren Truss and the NSW Minister for Roads and Ports Duncan Gay.

“This section bypasses Woolgoolga, Safety Beach and Mullaway, meaning quieter and safer local roads for these communities,” Mr Truss said.

“The completion of the bypass before Christmas is good news for the thousands of holiday travellers who will benefit from a safer road and reduced travel times.”

The Member for Cowper Luke Hartsuyker said the Woolgoolga bypass is the northern part of the 25 kilometre Sapphire to Woolgoolga upgrade which will fully open in late 2014.

“This entire project will provide a four lane divided road from Sapphire, just north of Coffs Harbour, to Arrawarra Creek, north of Woolgoolga,” Mr Hartsuyker said.

“The completed upgrade will reduce travel times and freight costs and improve safety for motorists and heavy vehicle operators along the Pacific Highway between Coffs Harbour and Grafton.”

The Australian Government has committed $5.6 billion from 2013–14 to duplicate the Pacific Highway by the end of the decade.

Mr Gay said the Australian and NSW governments had jointly funded the duplication of the Pacific Highway since 1996.

“Light vehicles are already saving an average of around 80 minutes travel time and heavy vehicles about 90 minutes, with overall savings expected to increase to 2.5 hours when the entire upgrade is complete,” Mr Gay said.

“Construction work has brought economic benefits to local businesses, with some 2500 jobs being supported during the Sapphire to Woolgoolga upgrade works.”

The Australian Government has contributed $705 million to the Sapphire to Woolgoolga project and the NSW Government has contributed $145 million.