Access to super-fast data services improves in WA Wheatbelt

Media Release


11 April 2018

Joint release with:

Quentin Davies

Chairman of North Eastern Wheatbelt Regional Organisation of Councils

Melissa Price

Federal Member for Durack

  • New data centre and relay stations installed in North Eastern Wheatbelt region
  • Access to improved data services a boon for businesses and locals
  • $701,875 provided under Federal Government's Building Better Regions Fund

New telecommunication equipment will ensure locals and businesses in Western Australia's North Eastern Wheatbelt region can connect to super-fast data services.

Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government John McVeigh said the Coalition Government contributed $701,875 to the project through the Building Better Regions Fund.

“Completion of this project has not only added value to the existing NBN service that some regional residents and businesses receive, it has provided those who cannot access the NBN with workable alternatives,” Dr McVeigh said.

Federal Member for Durack Melissa Price said the project involved the installation of a 1GB data centre with an inbuilt generator as well as 11 solar-powered relay stations across the North Eastern Wheatbelt.

“This new, state-of-the-art equipment will help foster increased social and economic activity throughout the region, making it an even better place to live and work,” Ms Price said.

North Eastern Wheatbelt Regional Organisation of Councils (NEWROC) Chairman Quentin Davies said improving the region's access to super-fast internet services would help each member shire to grow local businesses, capture tourism opportunities and attract more permanent residents.

“This project has already provided a welcome boost to the local economy that we expect to continue as more people avail themselves of the broad range of educational, social and commercial opportunities access to super-fast digital services provides,” Cr Davies said.

This project was jointly funded by the Federal Government ($701,875), the NEWROC Executive Committee and the Shires of Nungarin, Trayning, Koorda, Mukinbudin, Mt Marshall, Merredin and Wyalkatchem ($284,625), and Bendigo Community Bank ($2,000).