The Hon Michael McCormack MP Biography

Parliamentary service

  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Riverina, New South Wales, 2010.

Ministerial appointments

  • Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Finance from 18.9.13.

Committee service

  • House of Representatives Standing: House from 25.10.10 to 5.8.13; Regional Australia from 25.10.10 to 5.8.13.

Party positions

  • Director, Nationals federal election campaigns for Riverina, 2004 and 2007.
  • Vice-Chairman, Nationals Riverina Electorate Council 2010.
  • Member, Nationals State Central Council (NSW) 2010.


  • Born 2.8.1964, Wagga Wagga, NSW.
  • Married.

Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament

  • Journalist and reporter, The Daily Advertiser, Wagga Wagga 1981–88; Sub-editor 1988–91; Acting Editor 1991–92; Editor 1992–2002.
  • Group Editor, Riverina Media Group 1996–2002.
  • Publisher, MSS Media Services and Solutions 2002–10.


  • Description: rural.
    Location: central western New South Wales; it includes the rural cities of Griffith and Wagga Wagga and the towns of Coleambally, Coolamon, Gundagai, Hillston, Junee, Leeton, Narrandera, Temora, Tumut, Tumbarumba and West Wyalong.
    Area: 61 435 sq km (approx.).
    Electors enrolled: 100 115 (at 7.9.13).
    Industries: wheat, barley, canola, rice and cereal crops, fat lambs, wool, poultry, dairying, cattle, ostrich, emu, deer and goat farming, food processing, fruit, grapes, and wine making, flour milling, concrete pipes, steel construction, brick kiln, saw milling, joinery, plaster works, tourism, higher education (including Charles Sturt University), CSIRO research and technology, and defence forces.

    State electorates: Riverina includes the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorate of Cootamundra, and parts of Albury, Murray and Wagga Wagga.


  • Wild colonial boys: bushrangers in the Riverina, 1996.
  • Might and bite: history of the Turvey Park Australian Football Club 1952–2002.
  • New South Wales: linking Australia to the world, 2003.
  • 40 not out: history of the Marian/St Michael's Cricket Club 1963–2004.
  • The mighty Dons: history of the Marian Dons/South Wagga-Tolland Football Club, 2004.
  • From rags to riches: centenary of the Wagga Wagga Conference of the Society of St Vincent de Paul, 2004.
  • Mud, sweat and cheers: 50 years of the Wagga Kangaroos Rugby League Football Club, 2004.
  • And the big boys fly: history of the Carroll Cup 1969–2008.